The Ruon Chronicles: Worldbuilding the History, Part 4

The First Sundering and what happened next (plus maps!)

Hello again Dear Reader,

I hope you’ve had a great week!

y week passed in a blur of writing (including forgetting to post Tuesday’s newsletter… that kind of week), but there are worse things than writing to take up all your time.

Today I’m continuing the worldbuilding of early Airtha-Eyrassa, this time looking at the first of the two Sunderings that take place before Book one of The Roun Chronicles.

Lands lost in the First Sundering

Whre now the Silent Sea is, was once the ruined lands of Lewjan and his Khaldun. The Airus lived mostly in what is now called Drakenseiland, Ezankhall, and Othnihal. (See the maps below.)

During the First Sundering the ruined lands sank into the ocean, but many of the Khaldun — as well as Lewjan — did not perish in this cataclysm.

Seeing the amount of destruction in the wake of the Sundering, the Airus begged for forgiveness and the wisdom to never ask for any such thing again. However, darkness and hatred of Khaldun now also stained the hearts of the Airus and the Airus were no longer permitted to move through the Veil at will.

The Pitied

Some good had, however, come from the Sundering, as Airus helped Khaldun families escape the sinking lands. This meant that far less lives were lost. The Airus also realised now that there was still time for the Khaldun’s redemption. A few of the Khaldun did not want to return to Lewjan, and fled into the land that would later be named Khallahna.

They became a nomadic people, living on the fringes of society for a very long time even after the mortals were created. Very secretive, most didn’t know that they had followed Lewjan into battle against the Airus.

They would later become guards of the Three Towers (although unlooked and unasked for) and saw this as a type of repentance.

They were no longer called Khaldun, but was called mana-sahfaeda; the lamenting people, for many of the elders of the group would cry dearly for all they had done before the Sundering (including the killing of Leralia).

They are also called by some mana-anja; the people of sorrow or se khanell; the pitied.

The black sands

The beaches of Hagnismos remained black even after the Sundering, some say because the burning of the lands by Lewjan and the Khaldun there were so fierce.

Although the stronghold of Lewjan had sunk to the bottom of the ocean, a shrine had been built to Leralia on the shores of Hagnismos by those Khaldun who repented what they had done and wanted her to ask Agrai for forgiveness for their deeds.

Lewjan after the First Sundering

But Lewjan would not be swayed and neither were most of his followers. Indeed, they held more hatred for Agrai and the Airus than ever before. And so they sought for themselves new lands.

Lewjan had a son, Skahag, who wanted to take power from his father, but Lewjan found out about this. Enraged, he slew Skahag and his two younger children, vowing that none shall ever take power from him. And his people were afraid.

The Scattering

The Scatterting takes place after the First Sundering, when the Airus decided not only to search out new lands for themselves as well, but also to build Sanctuaries against the might and wrath of Lewjan and his Khaldun.

Okay, so Tuesday, I’ll delve a bit into the Knowledge Stone and its place during the Achtarion War, the First Sundering, and the time thereafter.

With love,